Home – New Forums Marketing mastery Email list

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Ben @ Coolerz
    • Total posts: 10
    Up
    ::

Hi there,

I have been offered a list of 55,000 email addresses. The seller has approached me randomly which has made me suspicious that it’s a scam. I’ve checked out the website the individual represents and it seems legit.

Does anyone have any advice on how I should play this?

Many thanks,

Ben

MatthewKeath
    • Total posts: 3,184
    Up
    Ben @ Coolerz, post: 195985 wrote:
    Hi there,

I have been offered a list of 55,000 email addresses. The seller has approached me randomly which has made me suspicious that it’s a scam. I’ve checked out the website the individual represents and it seems legit.

Does anyone have any advice on how I should play this?

Many thanks,

Ben

Was it this?

Hi,
    I have been working in the classifieds industry for 3 years. It allowed me to collect 55,000 email addresses from people in Australia (exclusively emails ending with .com.au).

The email list has never been used.

I would like to sell it.

If you are interested please let me know.

Regards,
    Vincent

If so then more than likely a lot people on these forums got it.

If it is is legit, why would random people on that list want to do business with a business that sends them spam cause that is what it would be if you sent to them.

IncredibleCo
    • Total posts: 406
    Up

Even if the list was legit it would be illegal to send out a bulk email to everyone on it. Your domain could also get blacklisted making it difficult to contact your legitimate customers and services like Mailchimp will never allow you to import a list such as that.

You’re better off without.

There are better ways of prospecting.

Ben @ Coolerz
    • Total posts: 10
    Up

Thanks gents.

I thought it sounded a bit fishy, thanks for confirming.

Peter – FS Administrator
    • Total posts: 1,889
    Up

Hi Ben and all,