Home – New Forums Starting your journey employee or contractor?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    m2nb
    • Total posts: 56
    Up
    ::

hi guys!
    im new to all this so please bare with me (this might be long sorry)…

im currently in the process of setting up a small beauty business.. i have my premises, shop equipment and am now just waiting on council.

As the business is situated in a small country town i have been talking to locals and have been getting very positive vibes. Im a qualified beautician and was planning on just offering manicures and pedicures, facials, tinting and make up to start off with but after talking to the locals a lot have been asking if i will be doing waxing. i have some equipment for it from when i did my course but i am not 100% confident in the procedure and admit its not my forte and im worried that this will reflect on my clients and i really want to put them at ease.

now here comes my idea.. i have a really good friend who has a slightly higher qualification in beauty and waxing IS her forte.. i would be happy to do facial waxing as im very comfortable with that but the rest im not so sure about. She is quite willing to help out and has said if i ever need help just to let her know.. but how would it all work? in terms of hiring her i dont want to do the wrong thing.

i cant exactly afford to employ her not at this stage but would i be able to hire her as a contractor and get away with it? she would have her own abn, set her own prices for the services she will do and will just pay me a small percentage towards rent etc? is that legal? i know when i started someone approched me to do something very similar for them but im just so new to all of this and don’t want to do anything illegal

any advice you more experienced people can give me would be great! im only 20 so im still learning as i go

thanx for reading! =)

c2cemploymentrelations
    • Total posts: 31
    Up

Hiya