Home – New Forums Starting your journey Employing checklist

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Kept
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi,

My friend, Cameron, is a sole trader who paints yachts in Sydney (very well might i add). I am a bookkeeper who should probably know the definitive answers to the below so i’m asking on both our behalves.

With the approach of summer he has had a rush of work (yay!) and is considering hiring a friend of his to help out for a few months and i want to make sure i give him the correct guidance with regards to his obligations.

I think (and the ATO website agrees) that he will have to take this person on as an employee as they don’t really fit into the contractor box, despite having an ABN, particularly because Cam will have to provide the painting gear and training (as the employee is a mechanic by trade). He won’t be an apprentice though as Cam is not eligible to train apprentices.

My main question would be what are the requirements to be a casual employee as opposed to a part/full timer. The work, whilst possibly 30 – 40 hours a week, will likely only be for a few months so we don’t want to be accruing leave during this time. The fairwork site didn’t give a point at which one changes employment status.
    Further, with regards to casual employees, is casual loading mandatory or just courteous?

Beyond that, i think Cam needs to consider:
    Minimum wage
    Minimum hours
    Workers comp
    Super choice
    PAYGW registration

Did i miss anything?

Any thoughts on the above, or other considerations would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you for your time,

Justin.

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Justin,

Those are great questions. I’m sure someone around here will be able to help you out with them.

Meanwhile, just wanted to say g’day, and welcome to Flying Solo.

All the best,
    Jayne

StellarScott
    • Total posts: 239
    Up