Home – New Forums Starting your journey Employment status & LinkedIn

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    fanix
    • Total posts: 43
    Up
    ::

Hi,

This might be a strange question, but its been bugging me…

I’m an IT Contractor (Software Developer) who recently registered a Pty Ltd company (ACN, not ABN), after which I then secured a 12 month consulting contract through a major financial institution.

Seeing as I am consulting through my own Pty Ltd, I’m not essentially employed by the company as im not on their payroll. I simply invoice them and they pay that to my company, who then pays me a salary (Accountant dealing with all of that).

So I’m curious, on social media and LinkedIn, do I say I’m employed by the company i’ll be consulting to, or do I market my own company by saying I’m Director of “MyCompanyName Pty Ltd” consulting for “the company i’ll be doing work for”

I’m looking at the bigger picture, potential marketing exposure, future expansion etc… What do most other contractors do that consult through a Pty Ltd?

Cheers!

Jason G
    • Total posts: 32
    Up

Hi FaNIX

I would personally say “Director at (my company)”. It’s a more precise representation of who you are.
    Of course, you could then separately state on who you’re working with.

All the best

Cooke Consulting
    • Total posts: 122
    Up
    FaNIX, post: 191457 wrote:
    Hi,

This might be a strange question, but its been bugging me…

I’m an IT Contractor (Software Developer) who recently registered a Pty Ltd company (ACN, not ABN), after which I then secured a 12 month consulting contract through a major financial institution.

Seeing as I am consulting through my own Pty Ltd, I’m not essentially employed by the company as im not on their payroll. I simply invoice them and they pay that to my company, who then pays me a salary (Accountant dealing with all of that).