Home – New Forums Starting your journey Family Trust and PTY LTD structure

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    jhopper
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi

I am seeing an accountant next week regarding setup of a business structure, just looking for some advice or comments on things to consider and options from experienced people.

I am a roof plumber and earn money from my own jobs(supply materials and labour) as well as sub-contracting on an hourly, daily or per job rate.

I basically want to know what is the bet way to structure things so i can pay myself and my girlfriend a weekly wage and protect the profits from tax as much as possible.

Any advice would be great

Cheers

jhopper

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Hi jhopper,

Not my area of expertise, but I wanted to welcome you to the forums. So welcome. :)

Good luck!

Dave

Jimmy1
    • Total posts: 11
    Up

A trust with a corporate trustee with a sole director (you) gives you the most tax flexibility and asset protection.

You can trade under the company name and sign (most) contracts as the company without disclosing that it is acting as a trustee of a trust.

The corporate image gives you a higher profile. If you get sued, because you are in a high risk area if damage results from your work or something and insurance wriggles out, the company that signed the contract is worth $2.

Profits can (subject to certain restrictions) be distributed with a lot of flexibility.

It is not foolproof, so make sure you don’t cut costs by getting advice from a fool – or from an internet forum.

TehCamel
    • Total posts: 873
    Up

if the majority if your income comes from your own personal exertion, you might get caught by PSI or PSB legislation.