Home – New Forums Money matters Family Trust holding copyrights to books / Cashflow in royalties business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Mathewwriter
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I’m an author (writing ebooks under my name and a pseudonym) who currently operates as a sole trader.

I write a book (say science fiction), upload it to Amazon/Apple/Nook/etc and then make royalties in USD/GBP/etc which are paid to me via Paypal and Payoneer (providing a USD bank account connected to a card that I use to take our AUD cash and then deposit into my AUD business account).

I’ve recently had two great things happen – the first is my business has taken off incredibly (up to about $10,000 in royalties per month and growing) and myself and my partner have had a baby!

So – I’ve been looking at setting up a Family Trust as we’ll soon be in the position of me making quite a substantial income and my partner making nil (so we can distribute the money between us and also to our daughter/future children).

I have some queries about family trusts and intellectual property and also cash flow.

1) The income-producing assets are copyrights to books. Can I put these into the trust? I believe I can but I’m having trouble finding info on copyrights specifically.

2) As I am continually producing new assets (writing more books), how do they add to the trust over time? I write series books so I could produce, say, five books in six weeks. How do I add continually generating assets? (Last year I wrote 52 titles so I can’t be paying $$ to constantly update asset lists).