Home – New Forums Get productive Filing Systems

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    LucidSurf
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi people,

I have been flying solo for almost 8 years now and still have one area that is far from efficient. Filing. This is especially true when it comes to receipts and invoices. Every year, indeed every quarter, I seem to change the system and then things get lost, messes mount and I get stressed out by something that should be automatic and simple.

Does anyone have “the ultimate” filing system for receipts and invoices? And what processes do you use to keep it in order?

I need detail, so, for example: Each quarter I start a new envelope for each bank account / credit card and file receipts in it. Daily I do my filing and enter into MYOB, or perhaps I do this weekly… etc. Do you scan your bank statement and then mark hard copy invoices as they are paid, or do it electronically, or both? Just thinking about this makes me queasy.

I am much better at thinking about crazy web concepts and business ideas.

Thanks!

sam_leader
    • Total posts: 660
    Up

Hello and welcome!

Have a read of this article by Megan Tough Managing invoices

Her system is simple yet effective. I reckon it will take you an hour or so to set up a similar system.

For more on keeping your office in order, check out the articles in our Office Administration section business administration office improve performance

Will you come back and tell us how you get on? I hope so!

Sam

@HeatherSmithAU
    • Total posts: 525
    Up

Hi Lucid – I have gone almost completely paperless – except for bank statements everything is scanned and kept electronically.

Here is the link to the article I wrote on this topic :-
    http://www.flyingsolo.com.au/p260960075_Practical-tips-for-a-paperless-office.html

Adam Randall
    • Total posts: 382
    Up

I scan everything too.