Home – New Forums Starting your journey Forced to shut website due to copyright?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Dennis Smechich
    • Total posts: 14
    Up
    ::

Hi All

I’ve been looking around for a while but cant seem to get any information so I thought I would ask the pro’s here.

Please note that the names, websites, etc below are all made up.

Lets say I sell laptops on my site called LaptopsAustralia.com. I operate under the business name MyHomeBusiness and NOT under a company PTY LTD. Our invoices also has the words Laptop Australia and the business name MyHomeBusiness on it.

Now lets say someome else decides to start up a company PTY LTD with the company name “Laptop Australia”. Could they possibly force me to shut down my website because of copyright issues since my website has the same name??

Thanks

My Wedding Concierge
    • Total posts: 109
    Up

I’m no expert, but I don’t think so if you’re using the website for the purpose which relates to the domain.

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Hi Dennis,

The short answer is “it depends” (on a number of other factors). And, if this is a situation you are in or faced with – the specific names/details would be necessary to properly advise on your situation. Please feel free to PM me or email me with some more specific details and happy to have a look over it and give you some thoughts.

In the mean time, the following is provided as some very general information:

Use of a “name” would fall under Trademark, rather than Copyright for a start.

If you have used and promoted a particular name for X period of time in the marketplace, and after you started using that name someone else registered a company then this wouldn’t given them the right to tell you to stop using that name. A company name does not afford ‘rights’ or ‘ownership’ to a name in this manner – a trademark could.