Home – New Forums Starting your journey Franchising. Good or bad Idea?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    DarrenF
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi, I am currently considering whether or not to buy into a franchise business.
    I currently work in the gardening industry for a private contractor but think its time I went out on my own. I’ve been looking into franchises such as Jims and VIP and on the face of it they look pretty solid but from viewing other forums there are a lot of people slating the whole franchise idea and recommend doing it from scratch yourself.
    I would appreciate other people’s thoughts on this, especially if they have gone done the franchise route and succeeded or failed and where left with a mountain of debt.
    Thanks Darren

PRO
    • Total posts: 450
    Up

HI Darren

I have clients who have done really well out of franchising and others who have taken a bath.

I would thoroughly recommend taking an existing franchisee out for a beer for an honest insider’s story. Do that several times in each and that will help you get an insider’s view.

D

sam_leader
    • Total posts: 660
    Up

Hi Darren,

Welcome to the Flying Solo forums.

I think Darryl’s advice is pretty sound. I would also suggest having a browse of the search results on the topic of franchising, and reckon the podcast, in particular, is worth a listen.

Best of luck.

Sam

DarrenF
    Up

Thanks guys I will check out those links, and as Darryl had suggested I’m meeting with a Jims guy I saw out on the road for a chat. So hopefully some good will come of it. Thanks again.

WhatsThePlanDan
    Participant
    • Total posts: 297
    Up

Hi Darren,

I used to have a Jim’s Mowing franchise so felt I should comment for you.

I personally didn’t fare overly well with it – and was left with a mountain of debt (that I am still trying to pay off :() – but it certainly wasn’t any fault of the franchise.