Home – New Forums Starting your journey Freelancer / Home rent

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    gerrycircus
    • Total posts: 13
    Up
    ::

Hi there

I’m new to the freelance game, and have about 6 1/2 years experience. So far so good – and I’m REALLY enjoying it.

I have a question – my other half is looking at moving from our apartment. We’re in Sydney and in a 2 bed-apartment and I use one bed room as an office. We’re looking at renting a house, and am wondering out the feasibility of placing some of our rent against my tax at the end of the year. The rent will be a $600 more than we are paying now so it would be of great help. Also I will be using the house during the day to entertain clients, etc. Is there any possibility that the purchase of furniture would be applicable to place against my taxable income?

Thoughts?

Many thanks in advance,

Gerry

Serena Star Leonard
    • Total posts: 43
    Up

Hi Gerry,

I am not an accountant, so please please double check this!

From my understanding if you have a specific room for your home office, that is used exclusively for that purpose then you can claim a proportional amount of your rent by square meter. Likewise with utiliy bills etc.

Also for your business you can claim against furniture and other office requirements that are bought for use in your business.

Good luck with the freelancing! You will love the lifestyle!

Cheers,
    Serena : )

gerrycircus
    • Total posts: 13
    Up

Awesome – that’s exactly what I thought as well.

Thanks for your help Serena. Really appreciate it.

imagewerx
    • Total posts: 15
    Up

In Australia we have a self assessment system for income tax purposes so you can claim anything you want. The question is whether you can substantiate the claim and whether or not the ATO will accept it.