Home – New Forums Tech talk getting caught cheating google

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Craig_Longmuir
    • Total posts: 556
    Up
    ::

so we all know link farms are being used and many SEO guys say not to bother with them as they will end up getting you banned. But how long might this take?

as a web designer i keep an eye on my position and competition…1 company has been ranking particularly well for all web design keywords for the past 6months/year….

looking at their backlinks, they have 30k+ and looking closer a number of ones i looked at were just spam linkfarms…

seems to be working for them…is the risk worth it?!

Netorigin
    • Total posts: 421
    Up

They’ll eventually get penalised when Google changes their search algorithm. In my opinion, it isn’t worth the risk. The consequences of being caught could result in getting your website delisted and banned.

Google are suppose to be cracking down on linkfarms…

Cheers,
    Shaun

Craig_Longmuir
    Up

and assuming google do penalise websites for this sort of activity what stops people signing their competitors up to a $10 for a 1000 links from a spam farm?!

websitedesigner
    • Total posts: 917
    Up

Hi mate there is a great article by Rand Fishkin on the SEO Moz blog about this last week – check it out here.

If you read it you can sense the frustration among ‘white hate’ SEOs in that they know what they are doing is right and does work but they also know that while Black hat stuff is wrong, it also works and people who are good at it will probably figure out ways of keeping it working over the long term.

Black hat stuff doesn’t site well with me and I am a huge fan of just creating great content but I can also fully understand the perspective of the other guy he talks about in that article in that this stuff goes on all the time and most of it goes unnoticed.