Home – New Forums Starting your journey Getting my idea of the ground.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Ken Lee
    • Total posts: 28
    Up
    ::

Hi,

I am looking to begin my first business venture. Firstly I believe that I have come up with an idea that will sell pretty well, it is a branding/label clothing venture focusing on toddlers and young boys.

I believe that my idea will be something that my perspective clients will want to wear and something that they will want their parents to buy.

I have decided to post here so I can get some feedback and also force myself to keep moving as self doubt can cause a bit of procrastination.

Coming up with an idea has been the hardest thing for me so I am pretty chuffed to have made it this far 

I should also add that I do not come from a clothing background at all it is just an idea I have. Currently I work as a System Administrator.

What I envisage doing from this point is writing up a business plan, now to do this I have identified things I will need to do:

1. Find a manufacturer of clothing or supplier and prices.
    2. Get my brand/logo drawn up so it can be placed on the shirts and prices.
    3. Cost the parking of web-addresses.
    4. Asses if it is worth opening an e-bay store to run along another web-fronted shop.
    5. Find costing for local markets.
    6. Find costing for creating and placing advert banners/links on various sites such as bub-hub and the like.

I would like to use the business plan to get a loan and I think that 10k would suffice in the sourcing of the first load of stock, basic web presence/e-bay, business cards, advertising and market stalls

I will continue working full-time so I guess this will make the bank a little more likely to support this idea and keep the stress of needing to make money whilst getting the business of the ground.