Home – New Forums Starting your journey Getting Your Foot In The Door

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Clinton Moore
    • Total posts: 21
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone,

I’ve been working at generating leads for the last 6 months with my new business, but it’s proving to be a very slow process.

One of the biggest challenges I’ve faced is getting my foot in the door with other local businesses to create some form of referral pathway. As my service involves working with seniors, I had thought that groups such as retirement villages and funeral homes would be good groups to link in with. However, gaining access to people within these organisations has proven difficult.

My experience with LinkedIn as a networking device has pretty average so far. Most people seem to be willing to rack up connections, but are uninterested in engaging in conversation that could lead to collaboration.

I appreciate of course that networking and building relationships takes time, but I’d love to hear your ideas on how you get your foot in the door with other businesses when providing an individual service rather than a mass market product.

Cheers,
    Clinton

Rowan@quaotic
    Participant
    • Total posts: 712
    Up

I have found Linkedin a pretty poor resource, and I can’t see how it would work well for your business. Apart from that, I went to your website and found that it would not load on some browsers and was slow to load most pages and once timed out on Chrome. You might have to look at how you host the pictures or the photo sizes.
    Have you offered a free one-off package to one of the local old folks home to let them see what you do and how you do it?

The other little niggle I have that in your opening paragraph you have the sentence “Why leave it to old photographs and family trees to tell your life story when you can record it to video yourself”