Home – New Forums Tech talk Google Apps

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    @HeatherSmithAU
    • Total posts: 525
    Up
    ::

This thread so needs to get started doesn’t it!

I am looking to migrating to Google Applications.

My website guys have told me to do it myself, but it looks complicated, so I am going to try and get someone else to do it.

Did anyone else do it themselves – was it ok?

GoogleApplications Gmail – do adverts appear in the standard edition?

I have the .com and .com.au for my web address, if an email accidently is snet to .com.au can it re-route to .com?

I have read lots of positives about Google Applications – does anyone have any negatives to share about the ‘standard’ edition?

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Heather,

I’ve been using the hosted version of Gmail for 18 months (I think) now. Touch wood it’s never missed a beat.

Technically there are a couple of things you have to do like verify your domain and change some MX records to what Google specify. If you have access to a web person they can help you out and if you have a nice webhost like I do they’ll even change your MX (mail exchange) records for you.

Yes, you get ads in a sidebar, but never as footer inserts like Hotmail or Yahoo. No-one would ever know you’re using Gmail.

Don’t have any experience with multiple domain names, sorry. There is a optional setting in the admininstration to “Associate another domain with this account” so that might be what you’re after.

All the best.

MYOB, post: 5870 wrote:
    This thread so needs to get started doesn’t it!

I am looking to migrating to Google Applications.

My website guys have told me to do it myself, but it looks complicated, so I am going to try and get someone else to do it.

Did anyone else do it themselves – was it ok?

GoogleApplications Gmail – do adverts appear in the standard edition?