Home – New Forums Starting your journey Got the idea – now what??

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    blackfox
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi All,
    This is my first post and I am very new to all this, as Title suggest, I have an idea and no idea of where to go from here… so hoping someone may be able to assist.

I have a found a bit of a gap in childrens clothing for a specific type of childrens wear (believe it or not LOL) and would love to have some clothes made and set up an online store.

The problem is I have no idea where to start. Purchase the material and have samples made? My mum can sew but I really would like these outsourced from the start as I dont plan on making these items. Do I need a ‘designer’?

Also, I really would love the clothes to be made in Australia but it seems so much more expensive.

Any help would be appreciated.

TIA

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi blackfox,

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for joining us.

This long thread might contain some handy tips for you: http://www.flyingsolo.com.au/forums/working-smarter/1796-small-business-childrens-baby-clothing-label.html

All the best for the new venture,
    Jayne

TheGoldenGoose
    • Total posts: 860
    Up

Perhaps you could get your mum to sew some to do a little product testing at a market to see how it flies? You can gain a following there.

Thoroughly recommend http://www.berganblue.com.au for any online store development.

Would suggest you start with markets, think big but plan along the way. Grab yourself a business plan (many downloadable online) and nut out some core details.

Best of luck! :)

blackfox
    • Total posts: 4
    Up

thank you both very much !

I did plan to start with markets, forgot to add that bit in, so might be best to get my mum to sew for those and do the product testing that way ! Thank you, great idea.

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Hi Blackfox,