Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Greetings, fellow aviators!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    AudioMatt
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi there! My name’s Matt, and I’m a musician and sound engineer from Perth.

My move into business has taken a slightly unusual path. After being on DSP long term for mental health reasons, I joined a few bands and discovered not only that I had a knack for the technical side of things but that it also gave me a sense of accomplishment and meaning in life I had sorely lacked. I was encouraged to study it further.

I went back to highschool as an adult – not the easiest thing I’ve ever done – in order to gain entry to a Tafe course. During the following 5 years of study I recorded local bands and friends for free, as equal parts hobby, education, therapy and community service. It has been a lot of hard work, but my life – and health – are the best they’ve ever been as a result. I’m genuinely proud of myself, an aspect of life I missed for a long time.

My goals in business are to minimise my reliance on DSP, and to be able to repay some of the support my folks always gave me as they move toward retirement. It is also important to me that others benefit from my experience – music has changed my life, and I’d like to help others change theirs. There’s a delicate balance between being affordable to anyone, maintaining quality, and remaining sustainable.

Entering the work force for the first time now at 30 has its own challenges. I’ve never had to do so much as a tax return before, and have a crippling fear of bureaucracy – half an hour on the ATO website and I’m ready to give up on business all together. I’m starting to get the hang of it, but it’s slow going (It took me half an hour to choose an industry when I signed up here – still not sure I got it right!). The main reason I’m here is in the hope someone can help me wade through that particular swamp.