Home – New Forums Money matters gst on items already paid gst on?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    0ldfart
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

I am a mobile computer technician, and started my business last year. Im in the process now of trying to get my books in order ready for tax time. I buy computer parts retail and on sell them to customers at a small mark-up. Can anyone tell me, am I supposed to be charging my customers gst on parts I have already paid gst on when I bought them?

SewSpunky
    • Total posts: 49
    Up

It depends on whether you are registered for GST or not.

If you aren’t registered for GST, you can’t charge customers GST.

If you are registered for GST then you charge GST on your products you sell, and claim back GST credits on the products and services you purchase. Both amounts are reflected on your BAS, and the difference is either what you send to the ATO as your GST payment, or what you receive back as a refund.

That’s a pretty simplistic explanation though and I’m not an accountant so your best bet if you’re not sure about whether or not you should be (or are) registered for GST, and if you are what you should be reflecting on your BAS, you really should have a chat with an accountant.

TheBusinessAccountant
    • Total posts: 43
    Up

Hi

SewSpunky has it spot on! If you are registered for GST, you must charge GST on any sales to customers and then claim back any GST you have paid on your purchases/expenses for the period.

GST registration is voluntary until your turnover reaches $75k and then it is compulsory to be registered.

Feel free to email me if you need any further info.

Rhys
    • Total posts: 325
    Up

Hi, agree with earlier comments, but also interseted in how have you been handling you GST to date?