Home – New Forums Other discussions Hacked Website

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Angelgirl
    • Total posts: 30
    Up
    ::

HI all

Has anyone else had their webpage hacked by 1923TurkGrup????????
    I now have a great list of things to do, and as I am only new to websites I am really at a loss at how to do all this. I have a WordPress site (apparently this is really easy to hack into!!) and not sure if I can retrieve my files or not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Debbie
    Get It Right Proofreading.com.au

John C.
    • Total posts: 439
    Up

Hi Debbie,

Wordpress is no easier or harder to hack than any other website. A username and password can be compromised by various different methods, and any website is vulnerable if security patches and updates aren’t applied regularly.

In regards to recovering – do you have a backup of your website? If you don’t, then does your web hosting provider or website developer?

The best way to recover from a hacked website is to delete all your files and restore from a known safe backup. It’s also important to make sure that you address whatever vulnerability they used to get in in the first place – did they get your username and password from somewhere? Did they take advantage of a security vulnerability in an old version of your server software? If you don’t know the answers to these questions (and I realise you probably don’t) then you should probably ask for help from your hosting provider or web developer.

I use a plugin called BackupBuddy for performing regular backups of my websites. This plugin also inlcudes a malware scan and a discount to a security package called securi.net – one of the many features of securi.net is that if you buy a subscription, they will clean up any existing infections for you. It’s not cheap, but may be what you need if you don’t have anyone else to help you.

Good luck.
    John

Divert To Mobile
    • Total posts: 2,751