Home – New Forums Tech talk Having huge issues transferring WP site offline to live

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    bigmouthmedia
    • Total posts: 9
    Up
    ::

I’ve been developing my site offline on the Mac production computer with Bitnami, no issues.

I’ve gone to transfer it to the live site and I’m having huge issues with the site drawing properly, and I can’t access the WP backend.

I’ve followed a few guides and even though it all seems to be right in the process, I’m hitting a brick wall – and need someone with more experience to troubleshoot this.

Friendly advice (or paid) would be ideal asap. :)

EthiSEC
    • Total posts: 21
    Up

I’m far from a WP expert but It may be something as simple as a permissions problem on the production server meaning WP can’t access some information, have you checked these first?

I find a good way to start tracking down issues is to have a look at the Access and Error log files for the site.

It is typical for error messages to give you a good place to start looking.

HTH,

Jason

ShadowPro
    • Total posts: 22
    Up

I’ve never used Bitnami, but I assume it’s a desktop web server?

If so you need to do this to move a WP website (you may want to skip right to point 5. first as it’s the most likely cause of not accessing WP-admin correctly);

1. Copy all files to root of publicHTML.
    2. Import database. Either through restore or create a new DB and do an import through PHPmyadmin.
    3. Create new database users in cPanel, user and add to the database with all permissions.
    4. Change wpconfig.php to reflect;
    new database name
    new database user
    new password
    5. go into PHPMyAdmin and change lines in WPOptions. for Mysite and Address (I think). These settings are the same as you’d set in WP admin>Settings>general for site location.

If you’ve done all that correctly it should now be publically available as long as your domain is set right.