Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hello and should I be here ?!?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Ben T
    • Total posts: 7
    Up
    ::

Hello all,

Having spent the last few hours reading the forums, it felt rude not to register and introduce myself. My name is Ben, and I’m a software developer. Sure there are lots of us, but fortunately I’m a really good software developer, so I think that should give me a competitive advantage :)

Since moving to Australia (Melbourne) 6 months ago, I’ve been settling in, getting married, and have come across some freelance work. Wonderful, I thought; a work from home gig, something a little different from the normal 9-5 roles. Two weeks in, I’m seeing some of the good (flexibility, no commute !) and the bad (distractions, self-discipline). But I’m thinking the good has every chance of outweighing the bad many times over in the long run…

So what today started as an investigation into Australian tax laws to work out essentially how I can get paid went via an ABN vrs ACN search, and onto here. The decision seems to have gone beyond a tax optimization act and into a potential career / lifestyle change.

I have picked up a basic understanding of a few things, for which I’ll post a new topic to see if others can help point out any errors in my understanding ! For now, I wanted to say hi, and really ask the thought that’s buzzing through my head – should I be here ? Or am I mad to get into freelancing right now when I’m “just doing a contract that came along” ?! I don’t really have a network here yet – but then this contract came out of nowhere, who’s to say if I don’t dig around a bit, more won’t appear ?

Right – onto the right forum section to ask tax and new business questions !

Thanks and greetings,
    Ben

Captain Simmo
    • Total posts: 110
    Up

Hi and welcome to Flying solo,

Absolutely you should be here…