Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hello from Gosford New South Wales

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    thevisionary
    • Total posts: 20
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I am new to the site, but have been receiving newsletters for some time.

Basic background:

I have been self-employed in various roles since 1987. Even then, at the ripe age of 23, I realised I wanted to be in control of my destiny. I was into my second job after school but wanted my freedom and control. But it has never been easy.

I was a musician at the time of my parting full time employment so that helped pay the bills relevant to my life back then.

Then I started my own video production business (I had always been interested in recording things for prosperity on audio tape – video was the ultimate!), which led to a career in News after shooting a factory fire one night in my home town of Erina. I was a freelance news camera operator until 1997 when a set of circumstances meant freelance budgets were blown and I suddenly had no clients but a lot of camera-equipment debt.

Worse still, I had made some huge money in the years prior to this, but with no savings skills or good financial advice, I had saved none of it, apart from bought myself a house (which I am still in). I still have a mortgage, however.

I think I had a mini-breakdown and got out of video for some years and into computers. I survived by selling the video equipment I had and fixing peoples’ computers. The business went well, but was only enough to pay the bills.