Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hello from Penrith

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    PixelMotion
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

My name is Dean and I am from Penrith NSW. 12 months ago I left my full time employment in IT and pursued my passion of photography and video mixed with breaking news.

I now work as a freelance news camera operator covering breaking news in Sydney. On the “quiet news days” I do photography and commercial video production.

Up until now I have been running on some excel spread sheets and a basic version of MYOB – money coming in, getting by with what gear I have.

Now in 2014 I’m firmly planted in this work I am looking to invest in new camera(s) and start running the business correctly.

So I have come to Flying Solo to learn, read the forums and posts to learn how to better run business, purchase new equipment, lease a vehicle and make sure I’m doing everything correctly and to my best advantage.

Look forward to learning from all the people here.

Cheers,

Dean

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Dean,

Congratulations on what you’ve achieved in your business so far!

You’ll find lots of info on the topics you’ve mentioned here, so I hope it’s helpful for you. Please feel free to ask lots of questions too.

Good luck with the next stage of your journey :)
    Jayne

Michelle Johnson
    • Total posts: 97
    Up

Hi Dean,
    Congratulations on getting through your first year relatively unscathed! It sounds like you are very passionate about your business and I look forward to following your journey over the coming months. I’m sure you will get a lot out of the forums and articles on Flying Solo.

Best of luck and have fun!

Michelle

Tony Manto
    Participant
    • Total posts: 581
    Up

Hi Dean, well done on your success. Its good to see someone that is always looking to improve their business.