Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hello from the ‘Gong

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Alex B
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hello everyone,

A brief bio….My name is Alex, im 36 originally from the UK and now living in the northern suburbs of Wollongong with my wife and 6 month old daughter. I love living down the coast but work at the moment is in the city so im on the train to Sydney most days. Currently working in technical operations for a media company in the city, prior to that I worked in broadcast production and crewing both in various freelance roles.

I’m looking to start working for myself again and would like to u-turn my career as well! Im thinking of running a coffee van business, it’s appealing as I like meeting people, travelling around and am an early bird and know the value of a good coffee! I’m thinking that lower overheads and work hours flexibility would be a bonus too. However…..I have no experience in this industry and am looking for some advice in the mobile coffee van business.

I also want to take a small business management course probably at TAFE – again if anyone has any advice on a good small business course they know of i would be very grateful. I am going to be attending the Illawarra ITEC intro to business course in a couple of weeks so hopefully that will be helpful.

I’m aiming to get going in just under a year so am trying to get this thing started asap!

Thanks for your time,
    Alex.

Tony Manto
    Participant
    • Total posts: 581
    Up

Hi Alex, perhaps I can help with some of the area most courses offer, but other than that, I would recommend you try and get some part time work in a cafe to start with. You may also want to do a coffee making course.

See if there are any existing coffee van businesses for sale and pretend you are interested in buying it.

Alex B
    Up

Hi Tony,

Thanks for your feedback and suggestions – appreciate your input into this.