Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Help a small tasmanian community.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    The Mayor
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi to all,

We are a 4th generation retail business on Tasmania’s isolated West Coast.
    We operate an IGA supermarket and a Kitchenware/ Manchester store in Queenstowns CBD. Sales so far in 2009 have been good !

I am a complete novice when it comes to internet marketing and web based business operations !

I came across the flying solo web address while reading a magazine during the weekend !

Queenstown is similar to many small towns in rural Australia, our population has rapidly dwindled from 13,000 in the 1970’s to 2400 today !

Like most small country towns, we have witnessed business closures and a gradual loss of services that we once took for granted !

The problem our customers face on a daily basis is that they unable to purchase many goods and services that are available in the larger city centres !

I pose the question : How can a small retailer set up a web based business that caters to the local market, providing personal service and a large product inventory so our local community can benefit from the retained sales ?

Any ideas would help….Im a total computer novice !

Kind Regards

Phil Evans

Burgo
    Participant
    • Total posts: 2,104
    Up

Hello Phil and welcome to Flying Solo forum.
    What goods and services are you specifically after.
    Just reading your post has given us some idea of what you have so what other goods and services would you like to provide for your customers.
    I would immagine even with the dwindling population you would still have tourists come through.
    You just never know when and where assistance will come from on this forum, so a few more specifics could trigger our minds to follow the right path

The Mayor
    • Total posts: 2
    Up

Hi Burgo

Thankyou for offering to assist.