Home – New Forums Starting your journey Help please!! Becoming a migration agent

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    graham crane
    • Total posts: 9
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone,

This is actually my first post on this very good FS site! My name is Graham Crane in Brisbane. I currently work full time as a tax accountant and am sort of getting tired of it, its probably not just me and I like dealing with people more than anything else and being creative. I am interested in dealing with people from other cultures and have done a Migration Law course. I have helped friends of friends deal with the Dept of Immigration and get visas etc and it is something which I just sort of have a good knack of.

I can now become registered as a Migration Agent with MARA and am considering flying solo and running my own business as a Migration agent. It costs around $2,000 to become registered with MARA.

Was wondering if any members here know or have heard of other people who have run their own Migration Agent business? If so, how have they gone? I might start doing it on the side initially with a dream of doing it full time so I can be my own boss!

Am interested to know if people here think I can make a decent crust doing this line of work (I am 26 years old and probably do not yet have the wisdom to see whether a business opportunity is worthwhile or not in the long run)?

If people thing my idea is OK, I was thinking that I should probably do a website and market it on the internet using google adwords etc just so people become familiar with the business…

I would be really keen for any ideas or help whatsoever from people on this forum, anything at all would be appreciated – I really want to fly solo and just need help to find the best way of doing this and I thought perhpas that Migration Agency business might be a way to start off?

Anyway, would appreciate any comments (good or bad) whatsoever! Thanks and take care everyone.