Home Forums Money matters Help with GST Registration

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    77tosh
    • Total posts: 6

Hi,

In true Australian bureaucratic style I’m trying to register for GST and the Business Portal is enough to make me want to jump off the roof and end it all. However, as this is not in my 5 yr plan I’ve decided to not off myself and proceed.

Thanks to this website I managed to get some meaningful assistance on actually applying for GST through the Business Portal, but now I am not sure which of my 3 accounts to apply it to. They are listed as

1. Income Tax Payer
    2. Tax Bonus Payment 1
    3. Activity Stmnt 2

The top one of these says it’s been active under ‘status’…the other two says ‘no role attached’.

It may be relevant to know I’m a sole trader, operating as a contractor and earning more than $75k and collecting GST.

Please help

Tosh

kathiemt
    • Total posts: 1,168

Have you chatted to your accountant? They’re probably the best person to advise what you need to do as they will be fully aware of how you’re set up.

affgar
    • Total posts: 123

Yea, I agree .. best to chat to an accountant.
    I am glad you have experienced the joys of the Portal first hand! You survived … its only up from here right … lol ;)

bb1
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4,485
    77tosh, post: 222147, member: 63378 wrote:
    Thanks to this website I managed to get some meaningful assistance on actually applying for GST through the Business Portal, but now I am not sure which of my 3 accounts to apply it to. They are listed as

1. Income Tax Payer
    2. Tax Bonus Payment 1
    3. Activity Stmnt 2

The top one of these says it’s been active under ‘status’…the other two says ‘no role attached’.

It may be relevant to know I’m a sole trader, operating as a contractor and earning more than $75k and collecting GST.

Please help

Tosh

should you be collecting gst if you are not registered

Fiso