• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    radge
    • Total posts: 22
    Up
    ::

Hi,

I’m new on here and hoping that I will be able to find some answers and support from the forum :)

I think I have come to a point where my hobby is no longer a hobby however trying to determine if it is/isnt is doing my head in today so hopefully I will be able to find some answers on here. I am an artist, designer making jewellery, artworks, graphic design – which I am currently studying and almost finished which I think will finally push my hobby into being a business.

I know thats all a bit cryptic for today but I’m just going to find my feet here first if that is ok :)

Divert To Mobile
    • Total posts: 2,751
    Up

Hi Radge,

Welcome to the forum.
    From the sounds of your post you might qualify either way.
    Determine which classification best suits your needs then roll with that untill your activities make it obvious.

Steve

radge
    • Total posts: 22
    Up

Thanx Steve :)

After thinking about it more last night I think due the things I have done recently its talking it further towards a businss than being simply a hobby; it appears that the ATO has changed their definition of a hobby as well since I last looked into it and asked the accountant about it.

Recently I have started going to a few markets, which meant I needed insurance, I already have a website (which I have had for a while) and a trademark and I have applied for another trademark as well as recently opening an online store at hand-made.com.au and I have branded it all as well as developing a ‘contract’ for my design services as I am almost finished studying.

It would be so much easier to leave it as a hobby but the more I think about it I don’t know how the ATO would view it and don’t really want to get stung in the future if I dont do it right (even though at the moment it would be making a loss).

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Radge,