• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    josiefox
    • Total posts: 18
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

Just a little introduction….

I’m Josie, I am a graphic designer from Sydney. I have just spend the past 10 months traveling mostly in Europe and at times working as a freelancer for food and accommodation.

After having a bit of success with my freelancing and since I will very shortly be returning home, broke, unemployed and technically homeless, I am ready to start a new adventure. I have decided its the perfect time for me to venture into the world of self employment. I have already been busy researching and writing business plans and have an ABN ready to go. Now I’m hashing out all the details to hopefully be ready to launch by the end of July!

I am very grateful to have found this forum. It has been a great help so far and I’m sure with all the great minds I have seen around already, you will be able to give me some great advice.

So any general tips, hints, warnings or advice are very welcome.

Thanks!

Josie.

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Woohoo welcome aboard Josie! Good on you for making the decision to fly solo. Everyone here can relate to the step you’re taking, so you’re definitely not alone.

I have one tip – the great thing about selling a service is that you don’t have to spend time developing a product (your product exists already). So you have the opportunity to start selling or promoting yourself right away, rather than waiting two months.

My advice would be to consider yourself open for business today, put up a free ad on Gumtree, and start doing one active thing every day to get your offer out there. It might take a couple of months to start getting clients, so this could at least help you launch with customers rather than going a couple of extra months with no income.

Good luck!

Dave

angelarodgers
    • Total posts: 180
    Up

Hi Josie,