Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hi from a Qld Member

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    beckles
    • Total posts: 41
    Up
    ::

Hello good people!

Been lurking for a couple of weeks while I work on getting my new business off the ground and then thought why wait until it’s launched to introduce myself here??

I’m a freelance technical writer and trainer – basically I develop training material and programs for companies that either develop software themselves or are deploying new software within their organisations. I’ve been doing this for 16 years and have had a lot of fun and travel with it.

However, with the demise of my last contract a couple of weeks ago, it did occur to me that I have a library of documentation that I have developed and used for various clients – why not update it and sell it online? Hence the birth of The Document Shop.

Staff training, especially for popular IT software, can be a major strain on any budget, and at The Document Shop, companies, businesses and govt departments will be able to purchase a range of different training materials for use within their organisation. Anything from printed manuals, quick reference sheets to computer based training modules (CBT) that can be run off your computer or Intranet.

I’m still in the process of getting the website together, getting the material ready for sale, and developing a marketing strategy, so it’s a busy time, especially when juggling a 1 year old, 2 teenagers and a hubby that works full time :)

I’ve given myself 8 weeks to get this show up and running – seems like plenty of time when you start though lol

Looking forward to getting advice from everyone!

Cheers

beck

CruzAccountant
    • Total posts: 195
    Up

Hi Rebecca

That’s a great post! Very detailed and informative.

I’m sure you’ll find lots of helpful posters here. Let me know if I can help!

Richard

Ali Dark
    Participant
    • Total posts: 101
    Up