Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hi from another sole trader with some questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone,

I am new to the country, new to this forum and new to the whole sole trader business. So if anyone would be so nice to answer some questions that would be great!

I have applied for an abn about 2 weeks ago, but don’t have it yet. I do already have some work lined up and I need supplies and a car for this. My question is: will i be able to deduct these items if I buy them now as I don’t have my abn yet and also because I don’t have an income yet I would like the car to be financed by my partner and put it in my name. If I do this can I still deduct the car for my business?

Hope someone can answer this.

Cheers Tessa

Sasha3232
    • Total posts: 56
    Up

You might have to do a call out to accountancy experts for this one! Or ring up ASIC and ask for an expedited ABN?

CindyK
    • Total posts: 155
    Up

Hi Tessa,

First of all, how did you register for an ABN? Using the online services means that, if you are eligible, you would have gotten an ABN straight away. If you didn’t get one it means that your details needed further verification and it can take up to 28 days.

I recommend you contact them to check your status, as they advise, – here is the contact page.

I suggest you find out what happened to your application first before going any further. I believe that technically you can begin the business and claim the deductions (this was previously the case, but I can’t find any verification at the moment) however, if your application is on hold – then sort that out first in case it is rejected and your expenses are then not valid.