Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hi from new member

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    theresec
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi, just joined, and I have a question. I have been approached to join a local BNI networking group (business networking). Does anyone have any experience of this network group, as in it’s worth in getting referrals? or any other info? thanks

I am a BAS Agent/Bookkeeper, have been working as a tax accountant for three years but needed a better hourly rate and more flexible working hours. All i need to do now is get some more clients.

PerfectNotes-Kathy
    • Total posts: 500
    Up

Hi Therese,

Have a look here: http://www.flyingsolo.com.au/forums/networking/13955-bni-any-thoughts.html

I am also a member of a BNI chapter and have received business from it – and our bookkeeper has had to expand her staff twice to cope with the work! :)

Kathy

theresec
    Up

Thanks heaps Kathy,

That link was very interesting and helpful. I can’t see anything negative (except perhaps the initial cost – but you don’t get something for nothing).

I have visited this local group once and am able to visit one more time before joining. So i think i will give it a go.

thanks again:)

dextereugenio
    • Total posts: 536
    Up

BNI’s pretty cool.

ive been part of some great chapters and have made some excellent contacts and even some friends.

ive gotten tonnes of work from it (IT dorks always get the most referrals) and made some great connections.

I am not a member anymore however.

There are many PROs but there are some cons.

* the initial cost is quite a big hit.
    * the ongoing weekly breakfasts ($15-$20+) can add up
    * unless you know the members of the chapters beforehand, it could take weeks or even months before you get work referred to you
    * the early mornings really really suck poo