Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Hi from Perth :)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Vik_Per
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone! (waves)
    So glad i found you all :) I am about to start my very first e store so i will be checking out lots of posts on this forum.
    I will be starting up an online store geared towards makeup artists so selling cosmetics mainly.
    I have registered a business name, bought a domain from Go Daddy and have sent off an application for aus trademark.
    I am confident the store will do well as i think i have hit a niche.
    My biggest concern at the moment is finding an ecommerse building site. My private website (i am a makeup artist) is through wix and i love it as its easy and just suits me. However, i am not sure the wix will be ok as a store. Im not wanting to sell lots of products to begin with, but i do want an easy website builder (i have no experience in this except for using wix) and one i can build with easily. I have looked at shopify/Big Commerce but they charge 2% transaction on top of payment gateways? Volusion i looked at too but felt let down by the gateway options/pricing. So Im looking for a cheaper option to start with.
    Any suggestions? Is highwire, ashop, etc ok? A good gateway option? Is Paypal sufficient to begin with?
    Anyway enough of me rambling…lol Just wanted to say hi and about to make a cuppa and check out this wonderful forum :)

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi there Vik_Per,

Thanks for your kind feedback about Flying Solo, and for sharing a little of your story with us.

I hope you pick up lots of handy info here to help you get your new business up and running.

All the best with it,
    Jayne

MissSassy
    • Total posts: 1,255
    Up

I would suggest that you try to start the store in the way that you wish to run it long term.

Platforms like wordpress are really by far the best for your business.