Home – New Forums Other discussions Home or rented office?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Premier Audio Visual
    • Total posts: 14
    Up
    ::

So I sell and install professional audio visual equipment. Does it look really unprofessional to be working from home? Would it be worth the expense to invest in office space, or do I go for a virtual office?

kathiemt
    • Total posts: 1,167
    Up
    Premier Audio Visual, post: 330 wrote:
    So I sell and install professional audio visual equipment. Does it look really unprofessional to be working from home? Would it be worth the expense to invest in office space, or do I go for a virtual office?

That depends. Will clients ever be coming to see you? If not, then no, it doesn’t matter. I’ve been working from home for almost 15 years. Most people don’t even realise that. Some get a surprise when they find out.

Premier Audio Visual
    Up

I usually meet with clients on the site that they want the equipment to be installed, so I guess that means that I should continue working from home. I am part of a business growth program, and they offer a boardroom hire at $15 per hour, so I could make use of that on other occasions.
    I just think that, particularly with online advertising, for example google maps, it looks more professional to not have a residential address.
    Anyway, I will ponder on that one for a while!
    Ta.

kathiemt
    • Total posts: 1,167
    Up

I don’t give my address out Daniel in any of my materials or advertising. I use a PO Box and have in all the years I’ve been in business. No-one has ever questioned that. I don’t like advertising I have a lot of computer equipment in my home.

MissieK
    • Total posts: 234
    Up

I’m the same as Kathie – I work from home & have a PO Box. I don’t have my home address on any of my marketing materials or my site. :)