Home Forums Other discussions How could my wife help our business?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    mediaman
    • Total posts: 130

Hi everyone,

In an earlier “Tell Me Straight” post, I outlined the situation my wife is in with her employer refusing to pay her Jobkeeper.

I am a pretty good “The Writing’s On The Wall” type of guy and I wouldn’t mind saying this could be the beginning of the end for her job because she is hesitant to continue working for people that obviously don’t wish to support her.

Anyway, there is every chance this whole situation could be a blessing in disguise, as it could mean that she will be in the position where she can work for our own business. I currently work in the business by myself and some extra help and support would be valuable as I am finding it difficult to do everything myself.

Now, it may seem like a silly question with obvious answers, but, for some clarity, apart from admin tasks that she is capable of, what could she help the business with? What could she help me with to take the pressure off? What could an extra set of hands be useful for in the business these days?

If there are couples running a business together and one of them does the “hands-on” work (as I do), what things does the second person do? How does this work for you two?

Marketing? Client acquisition? Networking for the business?

She would need to learn new skills as she hasn’t done any marketing before, but of course there are plenty of courses available.

Thanks for the guidance!

Paul – FS Concierge
    • Total posts: 3,120

I can’t help in the detail but can assist in the broad strokes.

From a business perspective, having extra capacity is great but there is also ultimately a cost – the opportunity cost of your wife not generating an income from elsewhere.