Home – New Forums Tech talk How do I find out what keywords competitors use?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Ange79
    • Total posts: 173
    Up
    ::

Hi All,

This is going to sound like a dumb question, but I’m the first to admit that I’m not technically minded at all.

How does one find out what keywords competing websites use? How can I study a competitor website for instance, and analyse the content they have used for SEO purposes?

Thanks!

Blue Jet
    • Total posts: 189
    Up

Hi

Here is Google Starter Guide – something to get you started.

Thanks,
    Joey

Blue Jet
    • Total posts: 189
    Up
    Ange79, post: 128470 wrote:
    Hi All,

How does one find out what keywords competing websites use?

you can try this site keywordspy.com

Mrs Fox
    • Total posts: 81
    Up

Most online tools, including the Keyword tool of Google Adwords, will show the terms that put a site on high SERP ranking. You may need paid analytics services like Seoprofiler to check the anchor texts used in the backlinks of a website you are spying on. Usually, backlinks with similar anchor texts are posted for SEO purposes.

Aidan
    • Total posts: 1,125
    Up

Hi Ange,

I’ve tried a few tools for that over the years but found them all to produce some pretty random results based on that horrific artefact ‘meta keywords’ and copy content.

Nobody in their right mind uses meta keywords anymore unless its to deliberately throw amateurs off the scent and just because your copy contains the phrase “checked out flying” (as appears in the FS sidebar at the moment as part of “Have you checked out Flying Solo’s video library? Heaps of good stuff”), does not mean you are trying to rank for it.

If I do the exercise at all I tend to look at page titles, page urls, alt tags and page copy as well as anchor text used for page to page interlinking. That gives a good feel of what a site is hoping to rank for.

I hope thats of some help.