Home Forums Starting your journey how much profit should i be aiming to make?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    m2nb
    • Total posts: 56

hey guys,

Im setting up a small beauty salon. I currently have no debts as ive gradually brought all the stuff i need out of savings etc.. Im in the process of re evaluating my price list before i open.. everything has been dragging out for me and at first it was frustrating but i am now using the time in waiting for my salon to be ready to re look at my pricing and everything else to make sure it is right before i start dealing with clients.

My question is how much profit should i be aiming to make off each service and product i sell when im just starting out? also should i be factoring a wage into my pricing? at first i was adding a wage to the pricing but im not sure if this is right. eg $10 an hour so if i was to do a manicure that takes 15mins i would add $2.50 to the price of the materials.

Im only young and still learning, im trying to get all the information i can so i am completely ready…

altaimage
    • Total posts: 98

As a quick reply for you – pricing is obviously key and one of the hardest things to pin down when starting a business. Check out your competitors and price match with them if need be. Just bear in mind one thing – customers don’t mind a drop in price – you’ll soon find out if your prices are too high – but go in too low and raising them down the line will cost you dearly. People don’t take kindly to price hikes! So have a look around at your competition and try and place yourself in the middle there. Might help to even approach your competition – you’d be amazed at how many other businesses you’re essentially competing with will get together with you and help you out.

All the best though – the fact you’re consciously thinking about these details means there’s bound to be great success when you open the doors

Good luck
    Scott @ alta|image