Home – New Forums Starting your journey How to protect your brand with trade mark registration

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Lucy Kippist
    • Total posts: 230
    Up
    ::

Good morning everyone,

Jacqui Pryor is a familiar and well respected voice here on the forums. She’ll be hosting a thread here over the next couple of weeks devoted to her speciality – trade mark registration – a vital ingredient of business building, especially when it comes to protecting your brand.

Over to you, Jacqui!

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Thanks for the kind intro Lucy!

By way of a more formal introduction, I am a registered trade marks attorney in Australia and have worked in this field for more than 20 years now (eek!)

I’m looking forward to answering any questions that those flying solo may have about trade marks/trade mark matters. Am also happy to answer queries around other forms of IP (copyright, designs etc).

A little bit of house keeping given the nature of the topic:

1. Any answers here are information only, and not advice. If you have a specific issue at hand that requires advice, feel free to shoot me a message so I can see if/how I can help directly;

2. Don’t disclose anything confidential here. For example, if you have a query about protecting a new ‘invention’, keep the question general as disclosing the details could prevent you from being able to protect it!

Looking forward to hearing your questions, and, hopefully providing some useful information around protecting your brands :)

JacquiPryor
    Up

Maybe I’ll kick it off with a bit of trade mark 101..

What is a trade mark?
    Believe it or not a trade mark exists before you register it. By definition, it’s basically any sign that you use to distinguish your goods/services from the similar goods/services of other trade marks. A sign could be a name, logo, image, slogan and even colours, shapes, sounds and smells.