Home – New Forums Money matters How to treat Assets for Accounting Purposes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    globeglimpser
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi all – business newbie here.

I have recently started a photography business and as such will be purchasing some equipment (all individual items cost less than $3000 each). I was hoping someone could tell me how to treat these purchases as I would like to take advantage of the 100% tax write off.

My thinking is that I either treat the assets as expenses or I create an account for deprecation and accumulated depreciation which I would very much prefer to do.

Additionally – how would I treat any Capital equipment contributed, ie. purchases made pre-registration. I have just debited my assets and credited owner contribution – is that acceptable?

Thanks in advance for the responses

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi globeglimpser,

I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve moved your post over here to the Money matters section of the forum, where it will be more readily spotted by those who are best placed to advise you.

I’m sure someone will be along to give you some guidance shortly, but in the meantime, you might like to wander over to the New members section of the forum and tell us all a bit about yourself and your new business.

Welcome aboard,
    Jayne

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

As long as you are eligible as a business to have tax deductions (ie turn over more than $20K etc see ATO.gov.au for more info), then anything $6500 and under is now a direct expense.

I recently had to change a couple of my purchases from Capital Assets to normal Expenses after consulting my accountant.

Cheers.

StellarScott
    • Total posts: 239
    Up

Hi all

My view is that true assets under the threshhold should still be treated as assets and depreciated according to their useful lives.