Home – New Forums Starting your journey i am looking for Public Liabilty Insurance

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    adykacen
    • Total posts: 9
    Up
    ::

hello,

i am opening a retail kiosk in malls, and looking for public liabilty insurance, can you recommend me about good companies.

still on the same subject, do i need to make the public liabilty before or after i lease a place at the mall?

MattDell
    • Total posts: 52
    Up

Hi
    I have been an insurance agent/broker for 20 years so I guess I am qualified to answer this one :)

Every small business needs to have Liability insurance. Most insurers will have a policy to offer you and there will be little difference between the coverage (at least for the Liability section) between them.

So the 2 differentials when you are shopping around are PRICE and SERVICE. Whilst price is the easiest comparison please pay attention to service too. If you can’t get good service at the point when you are giving them money how good do you think their service will be when they are paying you?

OK – now without giving you specific advice – which would require lots of paperwork :) – here are a few things to consider:

• Malls and large centres will likely require a minimum of $20 million Liability cover – check your lease and make sure you are fulfilling all your obligations
    • The premium is based upon Business turnover, wages, staff numbers, number of sites and of course what product/service you are offering.
    • Prevention is better than cure and insurance is only 1 kind of protection. Set up your business correctly e.g. consider customer OH&S, etc – and you won’t need to use your insurance cover anyway