Home – New Forums Find the help you need I invented something. Next step?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    DerWahn
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi,

So, I have come up with an invention. I’ve made a prototype and tested it. I’m happy with it and am ready to move forward.

What should my first step be?

From what I’ve read I think it would be wise to file a provisional patent application. This will give me 12 months to do proper market research to determine commercial viability, and maybe even try to market the product, and will let me get it out there and get feedback etc at the very least.

So should my first move be to visit a patent attorney?

If so, what do I need to come armed with, so to speak? I have zero experience with this kind of thing and admittedly I do find it a little daunting. Do I need to write and bring my own product description for the patent? Or do they do all that for you or at least have connections to help you get it done? It may sound silly, but Im not really sure how to describe my invention. I looked up somewhat similar patents and the way the items are worded in a technical manner are beyond my ability to reproduce. The importance of properly describing your invention is not lost on me so I dont want to take any chances.

If I was to go to a patent attorney today I could bring technical drawings, 3D computer models, and pictures of the prototype. But thats it. Perhaps setting aside the technical written description, what else if anything will I need to know/bring to such an appointment?