Home – New Forums Selling online I Want to open an online store

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    PaniaDee
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hey everyone,

Well I’m a complete newbie when it comes to online stores and I just want to absorb any info that anyone has.

So basically I’m in Sydney, Australia and I want to do an online store for unisex fashion singlets. I’m having them made and want any info on what the next step would be.

I’ve applied for an ABN number and am waiting for my application to be processed.

I know I need a domain name.
    But what else do I need to apply for?
    Are there any legal requirements that I will need to be aware of and apply for?
    Should I be applying for anything to protect my company and it’s name?
    And are websites like shopify and my online shop (auspost) trustworthy and worth spending the money on? And do they look after the payment transaction side of things also?
    Also are there any hidden costs that I should be aware of?

I know there’s quite a few questions, but I’m just curious on where I need to start to kick things off. Any tips and helpful hints would be much appreciated.
    Thanks in advanced

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Hi there,

Welcome to Flying Solo!

We have a bunch of members with experience in ecommerce so I’m sure there will be plenty of advice.

I just have one tip. Considering you’re investing a good amount of time and money into this business, you want it to succeed right? Well considering you don’t have any experience with online stores, what exactly is it that will give you the edge over competitors and make you stand out? Will it be your designs? Your great product photography? Your customer service? Celebrity models? Are you awesome at PR? Something else?

Good luck!

Dave

John Debrincat
    • Total posts: 963
    Up
    PaniaDee, post: 190600 wrote: