Home – New Forums Starting your journey I’m an international student, want to start a business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    mishumia
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi..

I’m an international student, I want to know if I can legally start a business in Australia? It is to note that I am holding a student visa.

Thankyou for your time and effort.

Rashed Rahman

Peter – FS Administrator
    • Total posts: 1,889
    Up

Hi there

We suggest you start by looking at the Government resources here and if you do not find your answer, make contact through their site. You will find the Government very helpful.

Good luck!

mishumia
    Up

:( I didnt get my answer yet.. can anyone help..?

Classicb
    • Total posts: 8
    Up

Hi

Depending on the business structure you choose. If you would like to incorporate a company in Australia, you can’t be sole director, you need to find a local resident to be one of the directors. There is no restriction for you to trade as sole trade or partnership as long as you do not breach your visa condition and meet all the business complaints.

Business Vic
    • Total posts: 35
    Up
    mishumia, post: 7352 wrote:
    Hi..

I’m an international student, I want to know if I can legally start a business in Australia? It is to note that I am holding a student visa.

Rashed Rahman

Hi Rashed,

What business are you thinking of starting and which state and city will you locate your business in?

For information regarding visa restrictions please contact the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) on tel: 131 881.

Regards,

Business Victoria
    http://www.business.vic.gov.au

Loreden
    • Total posts: 14
    Up
    mishumia, post: 7352 wrote:
    Hi..

Rashed Rahman

Dude can we have an insight of what type of business you gonna start so we can suggest better answers :)

mishumia
    Up
    Business Vic, post: 7389 wrote:
    Hi Rashed,