Home – New Forums Logistics Importing and Freight Forwarders… what to do? (Over $1000)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    MissT76
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi,

I have previously imported goods and the Freight Forwarder cost me a small fortune.

After I had paid the money etc, I was told that the actual procedure could have been done by myself for a fraction of the cost.

Is that true? And if so, what is the process of paying everyone etc? Is there a checklist etc that needs to be completed when importing?

I do not regulary import goods, but when I do it is typically a signification cost involved and as a sole trader I am trying to keep the costs to a minimum.

Any feedback would be great!

Anon
    • Total posts: 96
    Up

Can’t help but would like some suggestions for this also. I buy a lot of stock from America and postage is becoming a killer. One of my suppliers has recently said I might want to look into a freight forwarded and apparently it might save on postage?

BJY35
    • Total posts: 13
    Up
    MissT76, post: 123532 wrote:
    Hi,

I have previously imported goods and the Freight Forwarder cost me a small fortune.

After I had paid the money etc, I was told that the actual procedure could have been done by myself for a fraction of the cost.

Is that true? And if so, what is the process of paying everyone etc? Is there a checklist etc that needs to be completed when importing?

I do not regulary import goods, but when I do it is typically a signification cost involved and as a sole trader I am trying to keep the costs to a minimum.