Home – New Forums Starting your journey Independent Consultants Can’t Sell Themselves?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    msteen
    • Total posts: 14
    Up
    ::

I don’t want to believe this. As an independent consultant myself, I would say that this is just garbage, but I would assume it is different for consultants from various fields. I worked in the financial industry in a Big 4 firm, and it was definitely easier to make connections and networks that way. I would say if you were in industry, and you move into the consulting sphere it might be hard. I read an article on this too, and I don’t know about it – highly questionable, but a good read.

http://www.consultingcafe.com/articles/how-to-get-clients-as-a-consultant

Tell me what you think. I really want to know about what other consultants think about this, I don’t want to believe in it personally but it might be true?

James Millar
    Participant
    • Total posts: 1,739
    Up

I actually think there is some merit in the article.

I know for example that we have spent considerable time in the last six months changing the way that we present and deliver our solutions (previously services). Our focus now is to slow down with the proposal process and invest more time upfront identifying where the value lies to the client. For some of our solutions we actively try to avoiding any discussion of fees until all of the objectives have been agreed upon by all parties (drawing upon material from Allan Weiss). Adding excess capacity with human resources has greatly helped us free up time for this.

Our sales process ties in heavily with this. Slowing down. Better assessment and more listening on the front end. So far the results for us have been spectacular.