Home – New Forums Money matters Instalment Activity Statement and Expenses

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    eilyk88
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Hi there! So, after a long time lurking I have finally come to a point where I need to ask a question of my own and hope all you wonderful people can help me out! I have done a search on Flying Solo and across the web, but I can’t seem to find a clear answer to my question.

I am in my second year of running a casual freelance web and graphic design business. As such, I am now paying my taxes quarterly. I have done one already and opted to adjust my instalment based on the ATO instalment rate provided to me as my income fluctuates as I do this casually on top of a full time job.

With almost every job I take on, there are costs associated that the client shoulders and I simply organise, purchase and set up (most commonly web hosting and domain costs; and printing costs). These costs are included both in my estimate in the final invoice. The money received for these costs go straight to the supplier. Sorry for my lack of terminology for what these costs are called in accounting land but I just track them in my simple accounting tool under ‘expenses’. More often than not, especially when it comes to printing, these costs outweigh my fees. For example, this quarter I invoiced approximately $4,000. $3,000 of that was expenses I paid to suppliers and $1,000 was all the money that went into my pocket.

So, my question is, when my Instalment Activity Statement asks for my PAYG Instalment Income (T1) do I just – using the numbers above – state the $1,000 (full invoiced amount minus expenses) as my income or do I need to declare the full $4,000?