Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Introduction & New Cake shop Business underway

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Cake & Bake Beginner
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Dear FL Community,

Time and time again this website kept appearing whilst I search for information to assist in a new business being opened by my wife and I.

I currently work in Sales as an external representative for an Australian Manufacturer, My wife is a home trained baker with an existing home business which will hopefully migrate to our new cafe.

Really impressed with the content of Flying Solo and can see this being very beneficial in the future, although I am reaching out today, I hope to be able to provide assistance to others where I have any expertise to offer.

We are starting a Cafe that seats 40 people, our floor space not including the service area is close to 50m2.

We are going to lease a premises that was once a cafe and re fit out the building again, essentially on a shoe string budget, one advantage we have is the opportunity to live above the cafe.

Our Cafe will offer a small menu of eat in food and our specialty is cupcakes, macarons and coffee. Our future plans include development of Wholesale foods and Baking.

I have read many of the forums about stating cafes from scratch and many of the obstacles I face are somewhat covered already.

I was hoping to get advice from anyone that has operated a cafe and leased or rented some or all of their kitchen equipment.

We are juggling many ideas to find a solution, some of which are listed below.

Rent try buy – Requires deposit, 25% interest over 12 months before tax deduction, purchase after 12 months with 75% rebate of rental payments, steep weekly repayments, Flexibility to change equipment at no additional cost.