Home – New Forums Money matters Inventory and “stuff” tracking

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    d3mad
    • Total posts: 73
    Up
    ::

TL;DR The questions are bolded :D

We’re in the fast-food/restaurant business and my whole accounting “principles” are all self taught and I am quick to acknowledge I’m doing some things wrong. My biggest error to date has not been tracking the sale of water over other drinks (ie, GST sales vs non-GST sales). I have come out of this ok since it’s pretty easy to calculate and it’s all been within my first BAS period and I basically did a stocktake and worked out how much I have sold in that time and credited back the GST that would not have been charged as a result of their sale. (this isn’t specifically the point of this post, but if anyone want’s to comment on that, feel free—I really am the first to acknowledge that I’m still learning here).

So I’ve realised I need to track certain things, both at an inventory level and a cost per sale basis for other items. At the moment we have been using a paper based ordering system and a cash register. It’s a good little register, but it severely lacks in some of the features I’ve needed. Mainly just flexibility. Lunch Specials vs full serves vs sets etc.

All this is about to change in the next week or so when our POS system arrives. Everything will be tracked a whole lot more with better reporting (hopefully).

This thread mostly stems from the fact that currently I’m just recording everything as an income and expense and have not been doing any stock/inventory control.

Inventory wise we only sell some cold drinks, that’s it. The odd grocery item, but that’s outside the norm. So to begin with, the emphasis is getting inventory tracking up and running and correctly recording GST sales vs non-GST sales and what sells and what doesn’t.