Home – New Forums Money matters Invoicing freelance client who now pays super

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Amsterdamned
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

Longtime browser, first time poster.

I work as a freelance IT guy with an ABN number and earning less than $75k so not registered for GST. I made regular payments into my super fund in the past to keep it topped up around the 10% of income rate.

I have a regular client where I work one day per week. They have told me that they are now required to start paying super on my behalf. I’m a bit crap when it comes to understanding taxes so I’m unsure of how to do my accounting.

I have used MarketCircle’s Billings Pro for a number of years and its been great for creating invoices and tracking payments, but has no options to record things like super contributions. I’m unclear if I need to do something different to reflect the witheld super contributions in my invoicing. If I invoice them for $600 for that one day per week, then they pay me $547.95 and withhold $52.05 that they pay into my super, do I still record the invoice as being paid for the full $600? Presumably this means at the end of the financial year, when calculating my earnings, I will be taxed at the same rate on that $52.05 super contribution. Is this correct? Should I be doing something different? Any help gratefully received.

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Hi there,

Welcome to Flying Solo!

I haven’t come across an arrangement like that before where a client takes super off your invoices, so hopefully one of our accounting experts will drop in to clear things up for you.

Dave

Anonymous
    Inactive
    • Total posts: 44
    Up