Home – New Forums Starting your journey IT Contractor as ABN

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    BGK
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hello All, I am thinking of working as contractor in IT ( software consulting ) by setting up my own company. I am a sole director working for my company.
    1. I would like to know how to I pay myself, and how much should I pay myself, what are factors that decide my pay.
    2. what are obligations in terms of super, should I contribute my own super?
    3. how is tax calculated?
    Any inputs would be much appreciated.
    Thanks
    bihag

niknah
    • Total posts: 20
    Up

If you set up a company you’ll pay 30% tax in the company. So you’d want to pay yourself everything you earn until you have to pay 30% personal income tax.

I was an IT contractor for a few years but only as a sole trader. Unless you expect to have to go to court or earn more than $180k (past 30% tax), there’s usually no need to set up a company.

And setting up a company will get you an ACN as well as an ABN. If you just want an ABN, you can register that as a sole trader.

Daniel Mitchell
    • Total posts: 56
    Up

Hi there

Yes, as was stated previously the tax is going to be your main implication in salary. Company’s have a flat 30% tax on profit, whereas your personal income will be a tiered tax depending on your level of income. There are benefits to owning a company, mainly limited liability (protecting your personal assets in case of the company being sued, insolvency etc.) but you will find there are other associated costs for the privilege. You will probably want to pay yourself a regular salary, which you will then pay income tax on, and will also need to pay yourself superannuation from the company.