Home – New Forums Tech talk Joomla? Too intimidating for the non savvy?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 49 total)
  • Author
    andy00
    • Total posts: 23
    Up
    ::

Hi Guys,

I was making some enquiries in the last few days and i’ve been to told that i need to install Joomla for the type of website that i’ll need.
    I’m not in any way very savvy when it comes to computers but can manage most basics.
    The consultant from godaddy says that it’s a very intimidating program to work with but can be done if you read daily about it (his exact words).
    Any opinions? I don’t want to attempt something that i could potentially turn into rubbish!

Thanks

Tamper Evident
    • Total posts: 64
    Up

Hi Andy,

I’m self-taught on a few different website tools and they are all intimidating at first.

You will find, through Google, step by step guides on nearly everything you need to do. The hard part is putting in the hours to search, try out, reset, try out again, reset and try again.

If you pick Joomla (which is wide spread and loved by many), stick with it. You’ll learn and become better with every thing you do.

Good luck!

Tamper Evident
    • Total posts: 64
    Up
    andy00, post: 117506 wrote:
    Hi Guys,
    I’m not in any way very savvy when it comes to computers but can manage most basics.

A quick google turned up this site:
    http://www.joomlatutorials.com

Take a look at their install guide and see if you feel comfortable with their info and your level of understanding. Looks quite good to me
    http://www.joomlatutorials.com/joomla-tutorials/joomla-15x/joomla-15x-setup/install-joomla-15.html

JohnTranter
    • Total posts: 842
    Up
    andy00, post: 117506 wrote:
    Hi Guys,

I was making some enquiries in the last few days and i’ve been to told that i need to install Joomla for the type of website that i’ll need.